National Eating Disorders Association

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
JessieJake
How can I be positive around someone in the throes of ed?

UGH, UGH, UGH. It took so long for me to realize why my m-in-law makes my skin crawl. I mean it took years. It's because we both have eds. She, I don't think has any idea she has one, and now that I've been traveling this road for a few years, I can see so clearly both myself and her and how this is affecting us. IT MAKES ME WANT TO SCREAM.
I was so uptight about Easter which I hosted. Having her over for a meal is excruciating without having to deal with my own ed. She wears her ed behaviors on her sleeve and draws so much attention to herself.
I've had my husband talk to her about not talking about food and a few other things. She's a little better on that, but still has these odd behaviors that are like fingernails on a chalkboard to me. Trying to avoid eating, lingering on the outskirts of the meal and people, talking about her food aversions, grimacing at food that it outside of her limited scope, picking at food, hiding it. OMG I caught her grabbing some cookies and hiding them in a napkin to take home. She caught me watching her. I was so annoyed I almost grabbed them back.
My husband just says let her go. Ok, I get it, but then she has something happen with her health because she doesn't care for herself properly and calls on my husband and others to come to her to coax her through it. I wish I could find it in myself to find some type of peace with this, but I've been unsuccessful.