National Eating Disorders Association

1 post / 0 new
BobJ48
Ben - Offering support

Hey Ben, hope this catches your eye.

Because yeah, what a shock it must be, to see how quickly she's pushed you away.
As I may have mentioned though, this type of surprise is really common. I've been working on "partners" boards for about 15 years now, and I've heard this very same story literally hundreds of times. So you can be assured that it's not you who are to blame for this - it seems to be a pattern that happens quite commonly, when EDs really gets it's claws in someone.

And really, for the person with the ED, they can often feel like they've been living a lie with everyone around them, and having to be someone who they aren't. And that the person who you thought you knew was a fake all along, and etc etc. You have to respect the person of course, but at the same time, EDs can really scramble their thinking, and their perceptions of who they believe themselves to be. And almost always in a negative direction too. They are horrible and hateful people, just a burden to those around them, and despite what others may say, are unworthy of care and affection. None of which they really want to get into with those who won't understand, so they are doing you a favor by finally abandoning their "fake self" and breaking up with you.

Or something along those lines. EDs can really do a number on people's sense of themselves, and lots of self-hate and self-condemnation is often the result. The sort of self-hate that it can be almost impossible to talk them out of.

But hey, if they only lost more weight, then they'd finally be a wonderful person again.

This is all hogwash of course. It's quite possible that you, and others around her, understand her true self much better than she does. But EDs aren't called mental illness for nothing. They really can mess with the person's mind in ways that are hard to erase. Even when the person themselves starts to wish they could escape.