National Eating Disorders Association

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
HelenR
Hope

Hi all. I am new to this journey and have a 14 year old daughter and it is really HARD right now. I'm just looking for stories of hope in recovery. That she CAN recover. I need a ray of light to get me through right now.

Marie31
Hope

Our daughter was diagnosed at 14; Feb 2021. She was hospitalized for 12 days and bringing her home was the most difficult thing I have ever done. We read some books that were so incredibly helpful and hopeful in the most difficult times. We are now 10 months into her recovery. She is definitely still recovering but things are much better. Just take it one day at a time, separate the illness from your child so you can be compassionate yet firm. It is so incredibly hard, but it does get better.

LZCdn73
hang in there

Our 15 year old was diagnosed in early September; continued getting worse until hospitalized for nearly a week in October. She greed to intensive outpatient treatment which lasted about three months until her weight was in a "maintenance range." Realize that seeking a higher level of help may require time off from school, but in the grand scheme of things, is a short term inconvenience for a long-term outcome (improved overall health). Also, underlying mental health issues may still linger even after the eating disorder is under control. In our experience, with her being medically stable lead to more clear thinking and energy to engage with others. Recovery is hard work; look for a family-based treatment program before long-term health effects are experienced. We're still early in her recovery but have hope.

Maare
there is hope