National Eating Disorders Association

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
crooked_heart
Meal Plan

Hi, this is my first time posting. Today was my first day on my meal plan and I feel very mixed because I didn't binge or purge at all and that's good, but I also can't stop thinking about the food I ate. I feel like if I keep following my meal plan then I will get fat and I just start freaking out. I think about food all of the time and it has taken over my life. I know if I keep eating like I do it will just get less and less becuase I feel like each day I can do better and eat less then I did the day before and I know soon it will get dangerous, fast. It is just very hard to get better. I feel like I just need someone to tell me that I am okay and that I am not horrible and nothing is wrong with me. I am really just trying to do it one day at a time. I keep trying to see the positives but the negatives are all I can think about and how wrong I feel about everything I do, like I can do nothing good.

alwaysthinking
Welcome

Hi. Welcome to the forum. I totally understand your fear, because I've been there, myself. It takes staying on that meal plan regularly to let your body get used to it to know that it's not going to make you "fat." Did you get this meal plan when you were in the hospital? Do you have a therapist or dietitian? I know when I was inpatient, I was freaking out about how "much" I felt I was eating, and it took getting a reality check from the dietitian telling me that I hadn't gained any weight. I hope this helps. Keep us posted.

crooked_heart
Thanks

Thank you, I’m currently looking for a new therapist. I feel like I just want to shove everything inside my mouth but at the same time never eat again. Does anyone else feel this way too and if so how do you fight these extreme urges?

Lizuli26
Sorry it’s all a bit panic-mode!