National Eating Disorders Association

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
serena2019
don't know if I should get help

I'm a freshman in college and pretty far from home and far from my brother and Dad so I've been doing a lot worse lately due to lack of accountability. No one knows I'm struggling, so my behaviors are overlooked. Prior to college, I hadn't purged in a long time, and now I'm doing so X times a week. I'm not sure if that's something that warrants help—in the past, I used behaviors with a much higher frequency and went to treatment, and now I feel like I'm not sick enough to need help but stuck in some kind of quasi-recovery where I'm oscillating between nourishing myself and trying to love myself but also hating my body and wanting to change it. I know getting support can't hurt me recovery-wise, but I'm not sure if I'm justified in getting it because therapy is just so expensive, and my student insurance doesn't cover much. Also I know most of you are probably not medical professionals, but does anyone know if it's an issue if I'm purging and there's a little blood? It's very little so I don't know if I need to be concerned or not. Thanks!

_admin_moderator
Hello serena2019 and welcome