National Eating Disorders Association

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
tea.time
Afraid of treatment costs

I know I have an eating disorder... It started about 6 years ago, but I didn't realize how bad it still was until this past April. I have since relapsed worse than I ever have and I feel like I need an intensive form of treatment, only I'm afraid to tell my parents not because they wouldn't support me, but because they will. I've had a lot of health complications and I don't know that our insurance will cover treatment to the extent that I probably need. I don't want to make them pay for it when I know how expensive it gets.

I'm also a college student, so I don't want to have to take a semester off for treatment, not do I want it to ruin my study abroad plans for the spring. While my school is only an hour away from the city, it would be difficult to go there regularly for outpatient treatment, the cheapest option. I might try to college counseling center when I get back in the fall, but they usually refer ED's to the city.

I hate feeling like a burden, and I don't want to ruin my own plans. What are my options?

iwanttolive
tea.time