National Eating Disorders Association

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Elephant_heart
Trying to self advocate

I need to go to part-time at work, for next semester's Student Teaching. January 2 will be my first day. I'm really struggling with telling my manager this. He is very type A and workaholic and married to the job and etc. I know he expects everyone to be.
Also, I came here only in August as a full time assistant manager, and I didn't tell him about this though I know about it. Because I really needed to get out of my previous job due to sexual harassment.
I was planning on telling him Tuesday, but ended up in the ER with my husband instead of going to work.
On Thursday the words were almost out of my mouth, but then another employee came by and started a store wide argument based on Fox News that I felt strongly about.
I work in retail, so no chances on Friday and Saturday.
I got to work early on Sunday to tell him, but someone else got there early as well and they were fighting. Then I planned to tell him just before the end of the shift but he left without my noticing while I was with a customer.

I'm so nervous, and this waiting is causing me so much stress!
I'm also so scared of retaliation, I'm really bad at asking for things I need because I don't want to be a burden or cause someone else extra work. We are already understaffed as it is, he is going to freak, All of my coworkers are saying that.

This is really affecting my entire well-being. Life keeps getting in the way and I'm scared. I don't know a good way of doing this and I am quickly running out of time...

ChooseRecovery
Elephant_Heart: Have you had