National Eating Disorders Association

Founder’s Council

The Founders of NEDA include past board members of founding organizations and others who were critical to the development of this national movement and the formation of the National Eating Disorders Association. In acknowledgment of their many years of dedication and service, the council is one way to support their continued engagement, involvement and connection to one another – and with NEDA. The board members came from founding organizations Eating Disorders Awareness and Prevention (EDAP) and American Anorexia Bulimia Association of New York (AABA).

Mary Pabst, LCSWC, Chair Judi Goldstein, MSW, LSW, Co-Chair Catherine Baker, MSW
Nancy Bravman, CSW Doug Bunnell, PhD, FAED, CEDS Leigh Cohn, MAT, CEDS
Lindsey Hall Cohn Bill Davis, PhD Amy Baker Dennis, PhD
Ilene V. Fishman, LCSW Michelle Hirsch, MD    Adele Holman, DSW
Craig Johnson, PhD, CEDS, FAED Sondra Kronberg, MS, RD, CDN Marjorie Laird, PhD, MFCC
Michael P. Levine, PhD, FAED Paula Levine, PhD Anita Sinicrope Maier, MSW
Margo Maine, PhD, FAED, CEDS Russell Marx, MD Diane Mickley, MD
Charles Murkofsky, MD Melissa Nielsen Jean Rubel, PhD
Joan Petty, RN, CS, NPP Niva Piran, PhD Morisa Schiff-Mayer, MD
Joseph Sultan, MD Natalia Zunino, PhD Steve Zimmer, CSW


Research Advisory Council 

The Research Advisory Council is composed of experts who have generously agreed to volunteer their time to oversee our efforts toward clinical research and training. We thank the many who served previously on our Clinical and Scientific Advisory Committee.

Walter Kaye, MD, Chair James E. Mitchell, MD, Chair
Evelyn Attia, MD James Lock, MD, PhD
Russell Marx, MD Denise Wilfley, PhD
G. Terrence Wilson, PhD Steve Wonderlich, PhD


Prevention Advisory Council

The Prevention Advisory Council is composed of experts who have generously agreed to volunteer their time to oversee our efforts toward prevention and body image.

Michael Levine, PhD, Chair Carolyn Becker, PhD
Megan Jones, PsyD, Co-Chair Dianne Neumark-Sztainer, PhD, MPH, RD
Eric Stice, PhD  


Medical Advisory Council
Neville H. Golden, MD
Philip S. Mehler, MD


Ambassador Council

The Ambassadors Council is composed of people who have generously agreed to use their celebrity on behalf of NEDA to generate awareness of eating disorders and to advance NEDA’s mission.

Jenni Schaefer, Chair

Author and motivational speaker

Dotsie Bausch

US Cyclist, Olympic silver medalist

Bradley Bayou

Fashion Designer

Lynn Chen

Actress and blogger


Model, author and activist

Alexa and Natalee Falk

Musicians (Falk)

Zina Garrison

Professional tennis champion and gold medalist

Kirsten Haglund

Former Miss America

Jean Kilbourne, EdD

Author, documentarian and social theorist

Justin Ly, NEDA Junior Ambassador

US Figure Skating Jr. National Team

Karla Mosley

TV Actress (Guiding Light)

Kaira Rouda

Entrepreneur, speaker, marketer and author

Jamie-Lynn Sigler

Actress (The Sopranos)

Carré Otis Sutton

Model, author, producer and activist

Whitney Thompson

Model and speaker