National Eating Disorders Association

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
newtothis
Husband is secretly eating and drinking

Hi this is my first time posting and am hoping for some advice. Sorry that this is a little lengthy. My husband is morbidly obese. When we met, I was dieting and at some point, he also went on the diet. He initially lost X lbs. But after a shoulder injury he stopped exercising. Then covid happened so it made sense that he didn't resume with a personal trainer. But he eventually stopped exercising on the treadmill too.
Several months ago, I sat down to have a talk with and shared my concerns about his health. There was no vaccine and it had become clear that he was in a high-risk category. I shared my fears about the future and how I wanted to grow old together. There were other concerns discussed as well. He agreed to go back to counseling and that he wanted some time to decide what to do. He started meeting with his therapist.

Within the next week I discovered that he had been sneaking food behind my back and he lied to me about missing food and utensils. I was angry but wasn’t sure how to handle it (he was unaware I knew he was lying.) He could tell and asked me what was wrong. I told him I wasn’t sure how to talk about it the right way and asked him if I could talk to his counselor. He said yes but began to freak out because I’ve always been able to talk to him about anything. So I suggested we go ahead and talk about it. But he refused. He said he couldn’t handle whatever it was and wasn’t ready to hear it.