National Eating Disorders Association

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
RoseyDanes
Wedding Dress Sadness

Only a year into recovery and 20 days is my wedding. It's not fancy at all, like just the officiate, a few family members and the two of us. Not even sure where we are having it. It's all had to be a bit haphazard, being that he is from the UK and we are jumping on a window between now and the next Covid lock down.

Anyway, we never expected the wedding itself would be anything major but I had set aside this pretty little dress I got when I graduated college some years ago. Back then, when I put it on it was too big for me, so I figured I was in the clear when I gained so much weight during recovery. But no... it doesn't fit... at all. Like, no chance in hades. And considering that our wedding was already gonna have to be done in this less than ideal way... having that little special dress was kinda comforting. But now, I can't even dream to wear it. And I dunno, it's making me really sad. It's not even a wedding dress. And my sister and mom can't make it to the wedding so I can't try on dresses with them.

I dunno, I just feel really sad. I do have another cute dress that I'm talking to everyone about wearing. But honestly, I just feel very unworthy of a wedding dress and afraid to shop for one alone. Like, I don't have a wedding dress for my wedding and I'm too ashamed to go buy one alone where I will have to look at a body I don't recognize. I don't even know where to start with this body! I still haven't bought new bras! It's so disorienting. I was anorexic for soooo long. I don't understand this body at all.

2Healthy4me
This happened to me too w/ dresses I had collected and then.....

I had to donate many articles of clothing, including the beautiful cocktail dresses which I had saved for weekends w/ my friends.

This last year I went to try on my old clothing, purchased a few yrs ago, and none of them fit.