National Eating Disorders Association

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Braviary18
Simple meal ideas?

This is my first time posting on a forum like this, I'm really nervous to submit this but I'd really appreciate some help or feedback or even some kind words.

I struggled with bulimia for a couple years in college. It started with dieting and counting calories until it progressed to throwing up almost all day long, everyday. I was always hungry and the only thing I could think about was what food I was going to eat next and how I would purge. I tried stopping at various times, but could never quite fully pull myself out of the hole I dug around me. I dated a few guys in that time and each time they found out, they were really angry with me and the relationship would end shortly after. I felt like a ticking time bomb.

One day I started dating the guy of my dreams, a guy I had a crush on since I was 14 and it turned out he liked me the whole time too. I decided to fully quit bulimia. Of course I had some slip-ups in the first week of trying, but eventually I stopped puking. I had to learn how to eat fast and sugary food again without feeling sick. I had to learn how much food was a normal amount because I hadn't felt full in years. The first time I felt full and let myself digest my food I cried because it had been so long since I felt 'normal'.

I started recovery on my own, but after I felt confident eating and digesting food I eventually told my boyfriend and he was perfectly wonderful about it. I had to teach him my needs, but he never made me feel bad. By the way, he lives in Massachusetts and I live in Texas. He FaceTimed me for every meal and told me I was beautiful and perfect every single time I started worrying about my weight.