National Eating Disorders Association

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
emily89
Triggered by partner

Hi everyone, it's my first time posting on here so hello! I'm looking for some advice/shared experiences. Here's some context: I developed anorexia in my early 20s and suffered with it on and off for around 10 years (the vast majority of these years I'd say I was in semi-recovery: at a low weight and over-exercising but not intentionally starving myself). At the end of 2019, for various reasons, I decided I needed to change something and sought therapy, allowed myself to eat unconditionally and reached a healthy weight (and appetite level) that I've maintained for over a year now. I don't have any food rules and have been successfully practicing intuitive eating and have seen all the mental and physical benefits of proper recovery as a result. This isn't to say it's been easy, as you'll all know, there are good days and bad days but, generally speaking, I'm doing pretty well.

However, recently I've started to get really triggered by my partner. We've been together for seven years and for the vast majority of that time, he's had a really healthy and balanced relationship with food. Over the last year or so, that's changed slightly and he's doing lots of research into strict plant-based diets (like, literally just plants), wants to do a juice fast to 'detox' and has also lost a significant amount of weight. It doesn't seem to be obsessive and he says his reasons are getting closer to nature and becoming more in tune with his body and he is of very sound mind. It's also worth noting that while his diet has changed, he does still incorporate most food groups (so it's not just plants... yet).