National Eating Disorders Association

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
alagu
Is this my trigger?

Hi everyone, I just started true recovery from bulimia. I'm really struggling with my feelings about recovery, and I was wondering if anyone had tips for how to deal with it.

Sometimes, I realize how bulimia has destroyed my self-worth and quality of life, and desperately want to get better. However, a few minutes later, I'll think about a specific model who I really want to look like, and suddenly I've lost all the clarity from before and I'm desperate to lose weight. Even if I try reasoning with myself, attempting to recall why I want to recover, suddenly those reasons sound ridiculous, and I'm aghast with myself for even considering recovery. Does anyone else have a similarly polarizing attitudes toward recovery that change so quickly? How do you deal with those moments?

I'm still very new to recovery, so I was wondering if thinking about the model would classify as a trigger, since just the thought has the ability to completely warp my thinking beyond reason. Does anyone have tips for how to deal with it? Thank you!

marty2020
HI Alagu,