National Eating Disorders Association

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
catdragonfly
New here and having a hard time

Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to these boards. I worked really hard to find what I considered to be real recovery from ednos/osfed (anorexia and bulimia symptoms at various times). It took years and so many relapses and I finally spent a full year (a little over a year) feeling like I had things together! My personality came back, I was spending time with friends, dancing again (in a healthy way) and doing really well at my job. I even entered into an online spiritual training group. Things were great. Then, the pandemic happened. I'm a massage therapist and stressed about my future (I work for a franchise). I'm still expected to attend work meetings virtually until we open back up and my boss makes comments about us gaining weight or the amount of food we’re eating and thinks that it's funny. My coworkers (with the exception of my best friend) are no different in terms of weight jokes right now. That coupled with my dance rehearsals being sporadic and virtual, cancelled performances, feeling completely unable to plan, and looking at the prospect of being sent back to work sooner than expected, I am extremely stressed and a lot of old thoughts are running through my end. I am finding that I have to force myself to eat meals and sometimes it's just too hard. I also purged once and stopped myself another time. What the hell? I thought I was finally better.

Miggi
I'm sorry this is happening.