National Eating Disorders Association

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
westsidetime
13 years

My mind is eaten up by the years of lies and betrayal that my wife's bulimia has caused.
We've been together 13 years. Star struck lovers with bold plans for our futures.

About 6 years in she admitted to me about her bulimia. I studied about it, braced myself for it and even went to therapy with her. I've never had a problem with the bulimia itself. I've caught her binging at times and gotten (i think) good at telling when she's in the throes of it. Its unhealthy and I know she's getting better. I proudly support her and the woman she's become through it.

In the meantime, we went through some very lean years, and we both come from humble origins, and those 'bold' plans required a commitment to getting out of debt, establishing good careers, saving money, etc. Significant financial planning. Moreover it required us (and our careers) working toward one another.

Early on (like 2 years in) she got a job at a non-profit. A prestigious company that didn't pay (as with most non-profits). I would counsel her to leverage the prestigious non-profit into the for-profit world and get a job that can help with our 'bold' future... at a minimum help with the debts and expenses. Put our finances ahead of a non-profits finances.

Relatedly, I hate her job. I loath it. While it's prestigious, her boss is a psychopath. For years, deep in the lean years, my wife would come home after a day of work in tears from her boss being cruel and manipulative. Her boss would demean her, demean me, demean our marriage..and under pay for extreme hours of work.

She ignored me and ignored our plans for the future. I didn't connect this to her bulimia. Ultimately she used the non-profit as a way to hide her bulimia and to deal with some very significant insecurities. Insecurities I was only vaguely aware of (aren't we all insecure?).