National Eating Disorders Association

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
KateM04
Weight gain

Hi, I am really conscious about gaining weight, which I know is something that I need to do in order to recover, but right now I am struggling with this. I have just started gaining weight really fast, and I am eating less than what I was at the beginning of recovery. I have been in recovery for about 2 and a half months. In the beginning to initially gained a bit of weight, which the doctor said was water weight, and then my weight gained plateaued for a while. Has anyone has similar experiences, does the weight gain slow down as you reach your bodies set point weight?

carmelfudge_f70
Hi. I'm no health expert so

Hi. I'm no health expert so can't comment on what your weight's doing but understand how difficult & scary it is to gain a lot of weight really quickly. For me, it feels like some kind of cruel trick, like a bully trying to make my already difficult life even harder. Rubbing salt into the wound. Perhaps reflect upon the good things that come with having a healthy body, such as a better chance of fertility (if that's important to you) & having more energy. A healthy body is also more likely to live longer. Think of all the amazing things a fit & healthy body can do, such as run marathons, climb mountains & explore the world (I'm not sure if any of these appeal to you but I guess you'll have your own ideas of great achievements). Part of the mental recovery is realising that the ED's idea of the perfect body is unachievable so there's no point in paying it any attention at all. You could literally be a rotting skeleton & it won't be good enough for the ED! I hope this helps. x

march26
Adding to that