National Eating Disorders Association

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
LastOneFastOne
Need Encouragement

Hi team!

I could really use some encouragement. Lately I’ve been falling back into old bad habits of chewing and spitting out high-calorie, high-sugar foods in an effort to get the taste without the weight gain. It’s a really embarrassing, disgusting bad habit of mine that I know is just a sign of disordered eating. Inevitably, it still causes me to gain weight but while still leaving me deprived and unsatisfied. I could eat and exercise well but having a bad habit like this just derails all my progress.

For background, I used to be a very competitive (5-6+ hours/day) distance swimmer. I was anorexic (by swimming standards, as in eating way more than the average 20-something girl but not nearly enough to sustain my level of activity). After I graduated college, obviously I wasn’t swimming to the same level, and I managed to give my body the recovery it needed. I got my period back and restored my weight (perhaps to a level a bit higher than I am comfortable with). I’m definitely still very active, but the culture shock of scaling back my activity has truly accelerated my recovery, but also to a degree that maybe I wasn’t mentally prepared for yet.

I want to kick this habit. Badly. I don’t want to feel embarrassed or out of control. I think if I was able to stop, I would be able to lose a little weight to get me back down to my comfort level and be able to maintain with a good diet and exercise, the way that makes me happy. Has anyone ever experienced this? If so, how did you overcome it?

Thanks in advance, all. Really appreciate it!

alwaysthinking
Me too