National Eating Disorders Association

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
illgetthere
What to do while waiting for help

About 3 weeks ago, I told my primary doctor that I had been suffering with binge eating disorder along with depression and anxiety. She referred me to a psychologist as well as an internist. She said the referral for the psychologist could take months but she was able to get me an appointment with the internist in a week and hopefully the internist would be able to get me in with a psychologist faster. However, they had to reschedule my appointment with the internist for about 20 days.
The problem is I don’t know what to do while I’m waiting for help. I was so open and looking forward to receiving help but I don’t know what to do while I wait. I’m binging almost everyday and I feel like I’m in purgatory waiting to receive the help I need. It may also be important to note that I’m a college student home for the summer and in a couple months I’ll be returning to school out of state so im kinda in a time crunch and the only other person I’ve told about my disorder is a close friend. Does anyone have any advice for what to do while waiting for therapy that helps with recovery? With my disorder, I’ve also gained lots of weight, putting me in the obese category. What can I do while I wait to help with my disorder as well as help me get my health back on track?

alwaysthinking
Neda hotline