National Eating Disorders Association

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
louise.ss
Not sure if I'm going about recovery the best way for me

Hey, I'm new to this but am feeling very lonely in my recovery, so I thought it might help. I'm a pre-professional ballet dancer, so I've dealt body image issues for a while, but didn't really change my eating until about a year ago. I started restricting a little over a year ago, and then maybe a month in I got injured which made the restricting a lot easier since I couldn't do as much exercise. I had intended just to diet for a month or two, but I was so scared that if I stopped I would gain all of the weight back. I lost weight, hair, and my period, and felt so cold and dizzy all of the time, but liked the results. Then when I started dancing again after my injury, I kept restricting, but started binging. I restricted even more to compensate for the binging, but didn't start physically purging until more recently. I've stopped restricting as best as I can in efforts to stop the binging, but now it has taken on a different purpose. Before, it would happen because my body was just so hungry, but now I do it out of self hatred. I have gained weight from the binging, despite the restricting and now the purging, which has seriously effected my self worth and self esteem. Something small will happen to make me feel awful about myself, which isn't very hard, and I feel so disgusting and feel like "what's the point", so I binge. Over the past three months, I have figured out how to physically purge (which sounds weird/bad saying), and it has started to become very regular. I am getting help, just outpatient with a therapist and nutritionist, but things have been getting even worse since I have been in therapy. I feel like it is an endless cycle of gaining weight from binging and binging because I've gained weight, and seeing myself in a leotard for hours on end everyday is making things so much worse. My therapist said the other day that th