National Eating Disorders Association

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Notsickenough19
Feeling Shame and Guilt

Hi Friends,
This is my first time writing in this forum and receiving treatment for both my Binge Eating Disorder and Anorexia. I feel so much shame of my disorders and depression and just overall childhood trauma and I was thinking about the first time that I felt the feeling of shame or guilt was when I was a little kid at age 7 or 8 and I have a sister who used to tease me a lot and I started to cry and I got so upset and so hysterical that I threw up, and I don’t remember if anyone tried to comfort me or anything but I do remember vividly being forced to clean my own vomit off of the carpet. I was also thinking of the first time that I was introduced to having a weird relationship with food and I remembered that I was on weight watchers at 9 or 10 and my mother would write down my weight and make it such a big deal if I gained some weight one week or at a cupcake another week. Her love to me has always been conditional. I've been really struggling with depression this week, everything just feels so hard. Anyway, so I’m in therapy and I have an eating disorder team that is supposed to check my weight and all of that and so I’ve been trying to not binge and purge as much but every time I try to stop purging I just feel guilty for being fat and wanting to eat. But I do want to get the help I need. But what i need advice on is feeling a little apprehensive or some anxiety about seeing the dietitian and the physician for the first time. I feel like my eating disorder has become my best friend because I've dealt with it for about 9 years now, and it's like my team is sort of taking my support system away from me. But one thing i'm excited about but also really anxious about is walking into support group for the first time. I know this is really long, I'm sorry. but i don't see my therapist this week and i just have so many thoughts about everything that's going on