National Eating Disorders Association

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
WriteItOut
Old ED Thoughts Stronger/Stress

So I am in my first semester of college and right before I started I finished my PHP for Anorexia/BDD. It seemed to help some,my body checking and rituals decreased and my eating was becoming more stabilized. I was slowly starting to see that the things I feared food would do, it did not. However, with the increased amount of stress I've been under I find my ED becoming stronger and so are my body checking rituals. I have noticed that I have more unhealthy thinking and goal ideas and even purged for the first time ( purging was never a part of my AN, I was only restrictive). I also keep hearing ED's suggestions of how I should return to my old way of eating and trying to convince me that even though I have not gained any weight since I have been in recovery , I should lose more.
It been very depleting lately, like I'm running out of fuel.
Has anybody ever slid back into there ED behaviors from stress or just from a rough patch?
Any advice would be appreciated.

chunkymonkey68
You are not alone in this type of pickle

I work in retail as my 2nd PT job. Whenever my hours go above 20 hours per week I become more exhausted and find myself binging on food more, and grazing if there is any food that's free and yummy around our employee kitchen/lounge.

When I was college after transferring as a Jr, I began to feel more stressed over my unit load and the testing schedules, as I do Totally hate Taking any type of Performance Assessments.

I suppose its like Performance Anxiety for me...

Good Luck and I hope you find help. Talk therapy and a gym helped me most...

s.boewer
I relate