National Eating Disorders Association

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
bunny18
Where Do I Start???

Hi, my name is Zoe, I am a college student, and I suffer from anorexia nervosa. I have struggled with various forms of ED since puberty, but within the past year I have become very sick. My clothes that used to fit tight are falling off me. I am dizzy and tired and cold all the time. I finally admitted to my therapist two weeks ago that I have a problem because I have noticed that I am bruising very easily and having menstrual problems. Since none of my family or friends know I have an eating disorder, she told me I should join an online forum and talk to some other people who know what I am going through.
I don't know where to start with this whole "recovery" thing. I want to get better, but at the same time, I am really scared to let go. I don't know what else to say. I am worried about how my family, friends, and boyfriend will react. I am horrified of gaining any weight, but I don't want to die or have serious medical complications. If I lose any more weight I am going to have to go to the doctor's once a week to be weighed. But they won't be allowed to tell me how much I weigh, they will just report it to my therapist. Next week, I have my first doctor's appointment in about a year. I am scared of what they are going to tell me. What if I'm more sick than I thought? Will they tell me how much I weigh?
Part of me is ready to be the healthy, fun-loving, active, carefree person I once was. But I start crying anytime I think about eating again. My therapist had me create a "recovery journal", full of pictures of my friends and family, inspirational quotes, and pictures of me when I was happy at a healthy weight. It's been a fun project and I think it will be good to inspire me when I am having rough days with recovery. But right now, recovery just seems like a fantasy or dream for my future, something that I want, but is just not an attainable goal.