National Eating Disorders Association

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
quantumleapster
Selective eating disorder spouse

My spouse has selective eating disorders. He is trying to make small adjustments to his diet and increase his exercise but also had a frequent habit of mocking healthy food and minimizing his illness. I’m never sure how to respond when he makes these comments. He will look at a healthy meal and state “that looks gross” he will get defensive on occasion and state “I’m taking care of myself, I take a multivitamin, this disorder isn’t like anorexia or bulemia which are serious”
I don’t know how to deal with these comments or what an appropriate response is.

BobJ48
Personal flexibility.

Oh brother, I can see where this could be unsettling alright. And it's nothing that I'm an expert in I'll admit.

But when it comes to disorders, generally the way that they get assessed is if they are having an effect on the way that a person gets through life. Which it kind of sounds like he's having a problem with, if his behaviors are restricted like this.

Most people would like to believe that they are flexible. That they can adjust to what comes at them, you know ? It's a thing that most people have a certain amount of pride about. Guys in particular, I think.

Not that you should be taunting him about this, but even so, I imagine that he would like to see himself as flexible too, and not constrained in the ways that he finds himself now. Not…obsessed, even, you know ? Which things like this are kind of related to.

But you are right : If things are to change he'll need to see this as a problem himself.

Which, if it is causing his wife distress…then it is.