National Eating Disorders Association

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Gugui
My girlfriend has a thin obssession

My girlfriend has a eating disorder, she has already gone a a psychologist (sorry for my bad english but im a Portuguese Highschool student and so is she) and she managed to "trick" him but i know she's not doing fine. She has been on a pretty severe depression until we started dating, but she still keeps the same obsession. Not being fat. She even said to me one time "i want to stop thinking like and this and get a healthy weight and diet for myself, but i can't just let go all of my effort of NF and reffusing to eat". The thing is i have told her many times to get some weight and to eat healthy and she says she's gonna get it but instead of gaining weight, she loses it, and i dont know what to do. Please help me, she has gone through some dramatic times when she used to engage in ED behaviors and i want her to get better. She wants to be thin but im afraid thats not the best for her. Please help me, tell me "topics" that i could use to persuade her or things that i cold do to help her, please. She has a very bad relationship with her parents and im one of the only ones who can trully help her. She's very sensible to questions related do me but still she cant do what i ask her to do even for her to do it for me...

justgina
Hey Gugui,

Hey Gugui,

Welcome, I'm glad you found the forums and reached out! I'm sorry that you're in such a tough spot :( It's clear that you really care about her and want to help her, and she is lucky to have you. I know how helpless you must feel and how horrible it must be to watch her struggle.