National Eating Disorders Association

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
Mtoto22
BF does not trust/believe in recovery

Is anyone else out there dealing with the intense frustration of a partner not believing you when you say you are recovered?
I was acutely anorexic from the ages 12-16 or so, and my recovery, which spanned a good decade, probably the defining struggle of my life (I am 33 now). I draw an immense amount of personal strength from that experience, and my recovery journey is a huge part of what shaped who I am now. As an organic farmer, I am intimately connected with where food comes from, and I rely on a strong and healthy body to do the work that is required and that I passionately love doing. My relationship with food has been completely transformed, and for several years now I have been very confident in my recovery.
Have been with my BF for four years, and told him early on about my past struggles so that he could know me better and hopefully appreciate my strength. I regret telling him, because though I have never relapsed since we've been together, he holds onto my past and continues to worry about me and treat me as though i am still sick. I am naturally thin, always have been, but very healthy. There have been times when I've lost weight due to illness or stress since we've been together, but i have intentionally gained the weight back each time, not just to prove him wrong but because I truly have no "use" or desire for EDs in my life anymore.