National Eating Disorders Association

Annual report 2019

65% 12% 23%
  • Programs & Services
  • Fundraising
  • Management & General

NEDA focused more efforts this year in creating the infrastructure and defining the strategy which will position and guide the organization for the future.

Audit & 990

For those wanting to dive deeper into NEDA’s finances, please check out our annual audit and 990 form.

Financial Oversight

Transparency, high ethical standards and good use of donor money have made NEDA a top-rated non-profit with BBB Wise Giving Alliance.

To see our governance policies and past annual reports, click here.

Consolidated Statement of Activities

Support & Revenue
Contributions and grants
In Kind$77,964
Sale of merchandise$1,898
Interest & dividends$1,604
Special events revenues$1,155,800
Less direct costs of special events($165,682)
Net assets released$24,925
Total operating revenues and other support$5,886,674
Operating Expenses
Program services
Education and support$2,825,427
Supporting services
Management and general$527,386
Total operating expenses$4,352,063
Change in net assets$1,534,611
Net assets, beginning of year$1,175,296
Net assets, end of year$2,709,907


None of which would have been possible without the dedicated “movers and shakers” on the NEDA board:

Board of Directors

  • Geoffrey Craddock, Chair
  • Glenn Shannon, Vice Chair
  • Bob Coven, Treasurer
  • Karen Strauss, Secretary
  • Karen Andonian
  • Evelyn Attia, MD
  • Frank Bisignano
  • Ric Clark
  • Julie Finkelstein
  • Ilene V. Fishman, LCSW
  • Heather Hower, MSW, LICSW, ACSW, QCSW
  • Dan LePage
  • Tamara Pryor, PhD
  • Shelly Steinwurtzel, PsyD
  • Susan Vibbert
  • Allison Kreiger Walsh, JD
  • Steve Wonderlich, PhD

Board Senior Advisors

  • Ovidio Bermudez, MD, FAAP, FSAHM, FAED, CEDS, F.iaedp, Media Advisor
  • Doug Bunnell, PhD, FAED, CEDS, Navigators Advisor
  • Amy Baker Dennis, PhD, Conference Advisor
  • Walter Kaye, MD, Research Advisor
  • Margo Maine, PhD, FAED, CEDS, Advocacy Advisor
  • Russell Marx, MD, Chief Science Officer
  • Kimberli McCallum, MD, Media Liaison

Board Emeritus

  • Craig Johnson, Ph.D., CEDS, FAED
  • Robbie Munn, MA, MSW
  • Don Nielsen